The Eurocodes are a set of European Standards (EN) forthe design of buildings and other civil engineering works and construction products.

The Eurocodes cover in a comprehensive manner the basis of design, actions on structures, the principal construction materials, all major fields of structural engineering and a wide range of types of structures and products.

EN 1990 establishes for all the structural Eurocodes the Principles and Requirements for safety, serviceability and durability of structures. EN 1990 also provides the basis for the structural design and verification of buildings and civil engineering works and gives guidelines for related aspects of structural reliability.

The Eurocodes provide common structural design rules for everyday use for the design of structures and products of both a traditional and an innovative nature.The Eurocodes are written in a style encouraging innovation and form a common basis for R&D in civil engineering.

The Eurocodes “recognise the responsibility of regulatory authorities in each Member State and have safeguarded their right to determine values related to safety matters at national level where these continue to vary from State to State”.

National choice is provided by the Eurocodes with sets of recommended values which can be replaced by Nationally Determined Parameters (NDPs). The NDPs account for possible differences in geographical or climatic conditions, or in ways of life, as well as different levels of protection that may prevail at national, regional or local level.

Publication of the Eurocodes was completed in 2007. They can be used in parallel with National Standards until mid 2010, the latest date for withdrawing conflicting National Standards.

The National Standard transposing the Eurocode Part will be composed of the Eurocode text followed by the National Annex. The National Annex may contain information on the NDPs to be used in the country concerned, decisions on the application of informative annexes and reference to non-contradictory complementary information.

CE marking is mandatory forproducts covered by a Directiveand allows them to freely circulate within the European Economic Area.

CE marking follows the successful approval of a productand symbolises the conformity of the product with theDirective. The use of Eurocodes raises a presumption ofconformity with the Essential Requirement 1, and parts of Essential Requirements 2 and 4 of the CPD.

Resource: DG Enterprise and Industry Joint Research Centre

EN 1995 Eurocode 5: Design of timber structures

Eurocode 5 covers the design of timber buildings and civil engineering works.

Eurocode 5: Design of timber structures – Part 1-1: General – Common rules and rules for buildings

General rules for the structural design of buildings and civil engineering works made of timber and/or wood-based panels either singly or compositely with concrete, steel and other materials. Detailed rules for structural design of buildings.

Eurocode 5: Design of timber structures – Part 1-2: General – Structural fire design

Supplementary to Part 1-1. Additional and varied rules to be used for the design of timber structures which are required to avoid premature structural collapse and to limit the spread of fire in the accidental situation of exposure to fire.

Eurocode 5: Design of timber structures – Part 2: Bridges

Complementary to Part 1. Varied general rules and additional detailed rules for the structural design of the main structural parts of bridges made of timber and/or wood-based panels contributing to the reliability of the whole bridge or major parts of it, either singly or compositely with concrete, steel or other materials. 

This European Standard was approved by CEN on 16 April 2004.

CEN members are bound to comply with the CEN/CENELEC Internal Regulations which stipulate the conditions for giving this European Standard the status of a national standard without any alteration.

CEN members are the national standards bodies of Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and United Kingdom.

EN 1990:2002 Eurocode Basis of Structural Design
EN 1991 Eurocode 1 Actions on structures
EN 1992 Eurocode 2 Design of concrete structures
EN 1993 Eurocode 3 Design of steel structures
EN 1994 Eurocode 4 Design of composite steel and concrete structures
EN 1995 Eurocode 5 Design of timber structures
EN 1996 Eurocode 6 Design of masonry structures
EN 1997 Eurocode 7 Geotechnical design
EN 1998 Eurocode 8 Design of structures for earthquake resistance
EN 1999 Eurocode 9 Design of aluminium structures
National implementation of EN Eurocode Part
National implementation of EN Eurocode Part
CE marking
CE marking

European Wood (in China)
C412, Beijing Lufthansa Center
50 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District
Beijing, P.R. China 100125
T +86 10 6462 2066, F +86 10 6462 2067
Sino-European Wood Center
Room 202, Engineering Department,
Taoliyuan Hou, Xuhui Campus of Jiaotong University,
No.655 Panyu Road, Xu Hui District, Shanghai