Living with Wood

There are many European countries, especially Nordic countries with abundant and sustainably-managed forests. Wood is one of our most commonly used materials due to its good availability, excellent material properties and unique sustainability. Wood is a renewable resource with an eco-efficient life-cycle; wood products can be reused, repaired, recycled and, at the end of their life, their energy can be recovered.

Take Sweden for example, about half of the sawmilling products go directly to the building sector. A major part of this is construction timber used for beams, studs and other load-bearing elements. Spruce/whitewood (also called Norwegian spruce) is the predominant species for building and construction timber. It is stress-graded and available in different strength classes.

Living with wood refers to the sector of the woodworking industry using timber for carpentry, doors, floors, windows, stairs, kitchen and bathroom furnishing, furniture, boats etc, which are close to people's daily life. Some sawmilling products are used for further processing. Indoor and outdoor paneling is a big segment, with many sawmills planing the timber to different profiles to provide a variety of panel types. In Sweden, spruce/whitewood is predominant for outdoor usage and pine/redwood (also called Scots pine) for interior decoration. While pine heartwood is chosen for its durability, for example in windows.

Today, many sectors require more specialized products from the sawmills, such as components kiln-dried to specific moisture contents, special profiles, mouldings, cross-laminated timber, glue line or straight-glued joints, prefabricated components for the industries making windows, doors, floors and furniture, pressure-treated timber, thermowood etc. The sawmilling products used are either further processed in the local woodworking industry or exported for further processing.

Living with wood-wood furniture

Architecture is a very sensual experience. Buildings are seen, heard, touched, smelled, tasted and understood. Wood - handled properly - picks up warm and velvety, creates vivid and ambiguous images, can enjoy the sense of smell, has resonance and sound. All the senses are obtained for the wood!

Wooden surfaces contribute significantly to the pleasant room climate, because wood effectively regulates the humidity of the room. Wood has a gentle influence on the immune system, because it absorbs pollutants from the air and diluted their concentration in a few hours up to one-tenth. Long term tests show that wood has a positive impact on the well-being of the people. Especially in large buildings, the generous use of wood prevents the otherwise often unpleasantly cold radiance.

Attic with wood
Attic with wood
Outdoor decking
Outdoor decking
Interior decoration of the auditorium Aucusticum in Piteå, Sweden
Interior decoration of the auditorium Aucusticum in Piteå, Sweden

 
European Wood (in China)
C412, Beijing Lufthansa Center
50 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District
Beijing, P.R. China 100125
T +86 10 6462 2066, F +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
Sino-European Wood Center
Room 202, Engineering Department,
Taoliyuan Hou, Xuhui Campus of Jiaotong University,
No.655 Panyu Road, Xu Hui District, Shanghai
Tel/Fax:021-53098550
info@europeanwood.org.cn

生活离不开木材

在欧洲许多国家、特别是北欧国家,可持续管理的森林资源非常丰富。木材取材面广,性能卓越,环保可持续,是使用最普遍的材料之一。木材是可再生材料,全寿命周期内可生态循环;木制品可以回收再利用、修复再利用、再循环利用、回收能量。

以瑞典为例,约一半的锯材产品用于建筑业,其中大部分用于梁、骨架及其他承重构件。分为不同强度等级的云杉/白木(又称挪威云杉)是最主要的建筑用材。

“生活用木”是指在木产业中,使用木材制作木工艺品、门、地板、窗户、楼梯、厨卫饰面、家具、船只等与人们日常生活息息相关的内容。一些锯材产品进一步加工,很多用于室内外板材。通过不同形状的切割,可以制成各类板材,用途广泛。在瑞典,云杉/白木主要用于室外,赤松/红木(又称欧洲赤松)主要用于室内装饰。而赤松心材耐久性好,可作窗框等之用。

如今,许多领域要求使用经过特殊加工的锯材产品,如干燥至特定含水率的构件、特殊形状的构件、模具、正交胶合木、胶合连接件、门窗、地板、家具、加压处理木材、热处理木材等预制构件。锯材产品的深加工步加工可以在本地工厂进行,也可以出口后进行再加工。

Living with wood-wood furniture

建筑是一种感性的体验。人通过视觉、听见、触觉、嗅觉、味觉来体验建筑,理解建筑。适当地运用木材,能够营造出温暖与柔和,鲜明与暧昧,使人们感受到建筑的味道,建立精神上的共鸣。木材能带给你一切奇妙的感受!

木质表面创造出一种令人愉悦的空间氛围,因为木材有效地限制了房间的湿度。木材吸收室内污染物,并在几个小时之内就能将污染物浓度稀释到1/10。长期的测试报告表面,木材有利于人体健康。特别是在大型建筑中,大量使用木材可以防止使人不舒服的结构冷辐射。

木阁楼
木阁楼
室外地板
室外地板
瑞典Piteå音乐厅室内装修
瑞典Piteå音乐厅室内装修

 
欧洲木业协会中国办事处
北京市朝阳区亮马桥路50号 燕莎中心C412室,邮编100125
电话 +86 10 6462 2066
传真 +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
中欧木业中心
上海市徐汇区广元西路55号 浩然高科技大厦808室,邮编200030
电话 +86 21 6439 9332
传真 +86 21 3460 1533
info@europeanwood.org.cn