Glulam construction

Glulam has greater strength and stiffness than structural timber of similar dimensions. Glulam also has a better strength to weight ratio than steel. This means that glulam beams can span large distances with a minimal need of intermediate supports. It also means architects and engineers have virtually unlimited possibilities when designing their own constructions in glulam, whether the task is a small house, the roof of a department store or a road bridge.

Modern glulam technology

Wood is one of the oldest construction materials in the world. Buildings, bridges and ships have been built in timber for many centuries. No other material has such a wide range of uses. Glulam – glued laminated timber – opens up still further possibilities for wood building technology.

Glulam technology was developed in Germany at the end of the nineteenth century and the world’s oldest glulam factory, Töreboda in Sweden is still in use today. Glulam has many applications: schools, sports halls, railway stations, industrial, agricultural and commercial buildings, shopping centres, bridges and even homes.

Glulam consists of individual laminates of structural timber, providing a highly effective utilization of the raw material. The laminates are finger-jointed to give greater lengths and then glued together to produce the desired size. Due to the production technology, very large structural components are possible. Little energy is needed for the manufacture of glulam.

Structural design

The glulam technology allows the manufacture of thick, wide and very long components; not just simple straight but curved elements too. Straight beams are manufactured with a constant cross-sectional dimension, mono-pitched or double-pitched. For larger buildings, two or three pin trusses, portal frames or arch frames of glulam components are suitable.

Portal frames can have curved or finger-jointed haunches. Glulam beams can be arranged in the form of a grid. Shell structures provide a wide choice of advanced forms free from columns. There are also many complex structural systems, e.g. arch and beam frame. One advantage is that all glulam components can be made in the factory in suitable sections for transportation, and then assembled on the building site. Glulam is an exciting construction material, partly because it lends itself so well to curved forms, such as arches, frames etc., and partly because its strength is particularly favourable for large spans. Free spans of over 100 m have been built.

Architectural design and construction

No other building material can be compared with glulam for expressing architectural or structural possibilities. Leading architects all over the world have demonstrated their credentials with spectacular glulam constructions. When dealing with wide spans, glulam products are the best choice for framing.

Glulam structures can be erected quickly and simply by using prefabricated units. The parts are assembled by nailing, screwing or bolting, unaffected by the time of the year or the weather, and any adjustments can be made with simple hand tools. A glulam frame can carry its full load immediately after the assembly. It is a well tested building material which, correctly used, has extremely good durability.

Glulam

Glulam is the term used for beams, arches or columns consisting of several laminates of timber arranged parallel to the longitudinal axis of the member; the individual pieces being assembled with their grains approximately parallel and glued together to form a member which functions as a single structural unit.

In elements of this type, any characteristics or features, such as knots, which may exist in the individual laminates, are equally spread, unlike a solid timber element from the same species. Furthermore, when using glulam it is possible to obtain larger cross-sectional dimensions and longer lengths than solid construction timber. Certified glulam is the accepted term for glulam with at least four laminates, that has been manufactured, controlled and marked according to certain rules.

EN 14080 Timber Structures – Glued laminated timber – Requirements is the European standard specifies the requirements for glued laminated timber products used in load-bearing structures, and deviations from target size corresponding to tolerance class requirements. Certified glulam is marked in accordance with the standard.

Glulam that has been manufactured in accordance with the rules given in national or European codes is graded in strength classes. The appropriate class is determined by the strength of the timber used and its position in the cross-section. The strength and stiffness values of the various strength classes are then given in the code. Glulam manufactured in Sweden corresponds to strength classes in accordance with Eurocode 5. Glulam manufactured by other methods than according to the regulations contained in the codes, e.g. with a different layup of the cross-section, can be used structurally if it is an approved product.

The glue used in glulam manufacturing has documented high strength and durability under long-term loading. Only glues of which the industry has long-term practical experience are used. The formal requirements are given in EN 301, which classifies two types of glue: I and II. Glue type I may be used for glulam construction in any climate class, while glue type II is limited to climate classes 1-2. A list of approved glues is kept by the Nordic Glulam Control Board.

Glulam production standards – stock sizes

Straight glulam components of rectangular cross-sectional dimensions are normally made of 45 mm thick laminates in widths corresponding to the sawmills’ standard range. After planing of the sides, the finished width is a few millimetres less than the width of the laminates.

Here is an example of Swedish glulam cross-sectional dimensions below. The following sizes in the table are in stock and should be the first choice, especially if only a few beams are involved. The sizes apply to components with planed surfaces at a moisture content of 12%. Other dimensions are also available depending on the factories' capability.

Thickness x Width (mm)

90 x 90

66 x 315

115 x 360

115 x 115

90 x 180

115 x 405

140 x 135

90 x 225

115 x 450

140 x 140

90 x 270

115 x 495

160 x 160

90 x 315

115 x 630

165 x 165

90 x 360

140 x 225

42 x 180

90 x 405

140 x 270

42 x 225

90 x 450

140 x 315

42 x 270

115 x 180

140 x 360

56 x 225

115 x 225

140 x 405

56 x 270

115 x 270

66 x 270

115 x 315

Advantages of using glulam

An appealing aesthetic appearance which acts as a valuable addition to the interior and exterior environment.

A high strength to weight ratio, enabling wide spans.

Small manufacturing tolerances and good form stability within normal temperature and moisture conditions.

High resistance to fire – often a requirement in public buildings.

Good heat insulating characteristics, reducing the effect of cold bridges and the risk of condensation.

Low weight, resulting in low transport and erection costs and reducing the cost of foundations.

Long life in chemically demanding environments.

Flexible production, enabling curved structural components to be produced at lower costs than other materials.

Glulam construction of Swedish Pavilion at 2010 Shanghai Expo
Glulam construction of Swedish Pavilion at 2010 Shanghai Expo
Glulam of Swedish Pavilion at 2010 Shanghai Expo
Glulam of Swedish Pavilion
at 2010 Shanghai Expo
A stadium with glulam in Aalborg, Denmark
A stadium with glulam
in Aalborg, Denmark
Älvsbackabron Bridge, Sweden
Älvsbackabron Bridge, Sweden
Renovation of Koldinghus with glulam in Kolding, Denmark
Renovation of Koldinghus with glulam in Kolding, Denmark

 
European Wood (in China)
C412, Beijing Lufthansa Center
50 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District
Beijing, P.R. China 100125
T +86 10 6462 2066, F +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
Sino-European Wood Center
Room 202, Engineering Department,
Taoliyuan Hou, Xuhui Campus of Jiaotong University,
No.655 Panyu Road, Xu Hui District, Shanghai
Tel/Fax:021-53098550
info@europeanwood.org.cn

胶合木结构体系

胶合木比同样尺寸的其他结构材强度和刚度更大,也比钢材的比强度(强度与重量的比值)大。这不仅意味着胶合梁的跨度可以很大,且中间无支撑构件;而且意味着建筑师、工程师们可以突破各种限制进行建筑设计,无论是设计小住宅、还是商店大屋顶,或是公路桥梁。

现代胶合木技术

木材是世界上使用历史最悠久的建筑材料之一,人们用它来建造桥梁和船舶已有几个世纪之久,没有其他任何一种材料用途如此广泛。胶合木则更进一步地拓展了木建筑技术。

胶合木技术诞生于19世纪末的德国,而位于瑞典的Töreboda工厂是世界上最早的胶合木工厂,而且一直沿用至今。通过不断地发展,瑞典的胶合木产量如今已达到每年15万立方米。胶合木可用于学习、体育场馆、轨道交通站、工业建筑、农业建筑、商业建筑、购物中心、桥梁以及住宅。

胶合木由多层结构层板构成,高效地利用了原料。层板通过指接可以达到所需的长度,通过胶合形成所需的尺寸。如今,胶合木的生产技术已经可以制造出巨型的结构构件,而且生产能耗很低。

结构设计

如今的胶合木技术不仅可以制造出很厚、很宽和很长的直构件,弯曲构件也不在话下。直梁的截面尺寸连贯,用于单坡或双坡屋顶。大型建筑适合采用铰接梁、龙门架或拱券框架等形式的胶合木构件。

龙门架可以采用曲梁或指接梁,胶合梁可以设计成隔栅形式。薄壳结构的形式则可以不受柱网限制。此外还有许多复杂的结构体系,如拱券梁框架。采用胶合木的一大好处是,胶合木构件可以在工厂分成几部分预制以便运输,然后在施工现场拼装。胶合木成为一种令人激动的建筑材料,既是因为它可以形成曲线的拱券和框架形式,也因为它的强度非常适合大跨度。在某些项目中,胶合木的跨度已超过了100米。

建筑设计和施工

没有其他建筑材料比胶合木更能表达建筑结构之美。来自世界各地的一流建筑师们已经向世人证明了胶合木的这种非凡能力。胶合木是大跨度建筑结构框架的最佳选择。

预制单元使得胶合木结构的施工搭建简单快捷。各部件通过铆钉、螺钉和螺栓组合,不受使用时间和天气影响,使用简单工具就可以进行调节。胶合木框架一旦搭建好即可承重使用。这种材料只要使用正确,还具有极好的耐久性。

胶合木

胶合木一词泛指由平行层板方木构成的梁、拱、柱等结构构件,层板彼此胶合,顺纹方向基本平行。

木材中的一些特征,如层板中的节子,在胶合木中被分担而弱化了,这点与同种木材制成的实木构件不一样。此外,胶合木还可以获得比实木构件更大的截面尺寸和构件长度。通过认证的胶合木,特指通过相关规范进行生产、监控和获得标识的4层及以上层板的胶合木。

欧洲标准EN 14080木结构——胶合木的要求。这本欧洲标准详细规定了作为承重结构的胶合木产品要求,以及对相应的尺寸误差。通过认证的胶合木须满足标准要求,并印上标识。

通过国家和欧洲规范的胶合木要进行强度分级。强度等级由木材强度和木材来源的截面部位决定。不同强度等级的强度值和刚度值见规范。瑞典生产的胶合木强度等级满足《欧标5》的要求。《欧标5》规定以外的其他胶合木产品,例如不同的构件截面,如果通过批准,也可以作结构用材。

胶合木所采用的胶黏剂必须在长期承重的情况下保持高强度和耐久性,也只有经过长期时间考验的胶黏剂才能被使用。EN 301中作出了正式规定,将胶黏剂分为I型和II型。I型适用于各气候等级的胶合木,II型仅适用于气候等级1和2的情况下。通过批准的胶黏剂名录由北欧胶合木监管委员会提供。

胶合木产品标准——储存运输尺寸

矩形截面的笔直胶合木构件尺寸厚度一般由45毫米厚的层板构成,宽度满足锯材标准的相关范围。胶合木构件抛光后的宽度比层板宽度小几毫米。

下表为瑞典胶合木截面尺寸示例。表中尺寸为存储胶合木的首选尺寸,在胶合梁数量较少的建筑中更应谨遵。表中尺寸为含水率12%、抛光后的胶合木构件尺寸。其他尺寸的产品也能制造,取决于胶合木工厂的设计生产能力。

厚度×宽度(毫米)

90 x 90

66 x 315

115 x 360

115 x 115

90 x 180

115 x 405

140 x 135

90 x 225

115 x 450

140 x 140

90 x 270

115 x 495

160 x 160

90 x 315

115 x 630

165 x 165

90 x 360

140 x 225

42 x 180

90 x 405

140 x 270

42 x 225

90 x 450

140 x 315

42 x 270

115 x 180

140 x 360

56 x 225

115 x 225

140 x 405

56 x 270

115 x 270

66 x 270

115 x 315

使用胶合木的优点

迷人的美学形式和外观为室内外环境增色不少

比强度很大,适用于形成大跨度

常温常湿条件下,生产误差小,形式稳定性强

防火性能好——通常满足公共建筑要求

保温隔热性能好,减少冷桥和结露

重量轻,运输和施工成本低,建筑基础成本低

在有腐蚀的环境中使用寿命长

产品灵活,弯曲结构构件的生产成本比其他材料低

2010上海世博会瑞典馆胶合木结构施工
2010上海世博会瑞典馆胶合木结构施工
2010上海世博会瑞典馆胶合木构件
2010上海世博会瑞典馆胶合木构件
丹麦奥尔堡某胶合木体育馆
丹麦奥尔堡某胶合木体育馆
瑞典Älvsbackabron大桥
瑞典Älvsbackabron大桥
丹麦科灵城堡运用胶合木进行改造
丹麦科灵城堡运用胶合木进行改造

 
欧洲木业协会中国办事处
北京市朝阳区亮马桥路50号 燕莎中心C412室,邮编100125
电话 +86 10 6462 2066
传真 +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
中欧木业中心
上海市徐汇区广元西路55号 浩然高科技大厦808室,邮编200030
电话 +86 21 6439 9332
传真 +86 21 3460 1533
info@europeanwood.org.cn