Gardening

Wood is a natural product that can be used in a huge variety of ways to immediately enhance any garden. It is important to choose the right timber for the job so that it will last longer. Timber garden products can last for years, but a little extra care will help to maximize their service life.

The performance of naturally rot-resistant hardwoods can be matched by low-cost preservative-treated softwoods. But not all preservative-treated timber is suitable for use in the garden, where it will have to cope with all sorts of weather conditions. Changes in regulations governing the use of some wood preservatives have affected what can be used and where; and proper disposal of preservative-treated timber must also be considered. Choosing wood that has an FSC or PEFC (Forest Stewardship Council) or PEFC (Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification) logo on the label allows you to tell your customers that it is from sustainably managed forests.

Treated or untreated?

Timber in gardens is fully exposed to the weather, so it normally needs to be treated with a wood preservative to ensure it lasts longer. This is true for most common uses of timber in the garden, especially for parts that are in direct contact with, or embedded in, the ground.
Pressure-impregnation treatment is best for new timber components. In Europe nearly all timber that is sold by timber merchants and builders’ merchants for use in the garden has already been pressure-impregnated with wood preservative. Timber that has been pressure-treated is a distinctly different colour to untreated wood – it is usually coloured green or mid-brown.

Cutting a pre-treated timber to length or notching it can easily expose untreated timber. Untreated/cut surfaces need a generous coat or two of brush-applied preservative. When handling pre-treated timber, wear gloves to prevent splinters and abrasions.

People, pets and plants

Modern pressure-impregnated wood preservatives and most water-based proprietary products won’t usually affect people or pets unless eaten. Climbing plants will happily grow up pressure-treated timber pergolas or trellises. Solvent-based wood preservatives and solvent-based coatings such as paints or stains are also available to extend the life of weathered sheds or fence panels or simply improve their appearance. Some of these products could potentially be harmful to people, pets and plants, so take care to follow the manufacturer’s instructions.

Timber structures and buildings in gardens

There are a huge variety of timber structures for gardens, including sheds, kennels, decks and tree houses. Some need planning permission. Many are sold in pre-formed panels that can simply be nailed together. Other structures, such as summer houses or log cabins, may need screws or coach bolts to fix them together. The timber is usually pre-treated, so normally no additional preservative treatments are needed.

Take care not to damage roofing felts, and ensure that roof coverings such as shingles or slates are correctly fixed; any leaks could result in rot, which can significantly reduce the service life of the building. 

Fencing

Prefabricated timber fence panels are widely available and are almost always supplied pre-treated. No other treatments are needed. However, a good way to extend the service life of the fence panels is to support them off the ground using pre-treated gravel boards. If the gravel boards rot in the future, they can be easily replaced at low cost, instead of having to buy new fence panels. Gravel boards can also be used to take up unevenness in ground levels, so the prefabricated fence panels can simply be slotted into place.

Pre-treated fence posts are available in a range of lengths and sizes, either in the round, or as square sections. The section size must be a minimum of 75mm x 75mm. For areas exposed to high winds, or for high fences, larger section-size fence posts are often needed.

Fence posts can be concreted into the ground or fitted into metal post-spikes or into brackets bolted to concrete footings. It is good practice to protect the end-grain from wetting, so the tops of the posts should be capped or sloped to shed rainwater.

Play equipment

For play equipment in the garden, follow the manufacturer’s instructions carefully when installing and avoid sharp edges, rough surfaces and protruding fixings, adding caps to all ends. Check that the equipment packaging states it is manufactured to meet the requirements of BS EN 71, and that it is CE marked. Consider the safety of the ground surface, the suitability of the location and whether the equipment requires securing (e.g. in concrete). Paints and coatings must be non-toxic. Ideally you should seek specialist advice before you design or build garden play equipment, as you will need to observe the relevant safety standards. For example, you will need to avoid small gaps that could become finger-traps or head-traps for children.

Sleepers

Pressure-treated timber sleepers have many potential uses in gardens, including raised beds, steps or pond structures. New sleepers are usually treated with modern preservatives, because creosote, which was used historically to treat railway sleepers or fences, is no longer allowed for garden use. Used creosote-treated timbers (typically old railway sleepers) are allowed, but many restrictions apply. All pre-treated timbers should be isolated from ponds using appropriate pond liners.

Balustrades

Pre-shaped and pre-drilled balustrades for garden decking, steps or small bridges are available with timber or metal balusters. Alternatively, balustrades can be made on-site from pre-treated wooden spindles, rails and posts. Vertical balusters (eg the spindles) should be spaced a maximum of 100mm apart and rails should be at least 900mm high, or 1,100mm for a deck that is more than 600mm above ground level.

Weathering and maintenance

Uncoated timber in the garden will weather to a silvery-grey colour within about 18 months to two years. If the wood is required to stay a particular colour, it will need to be stained or painted every few years. Many brush- or spray-applied wood treatments are available, and these can also help to extend the life of existing garden timbers.

Disposal

Offcuts from pre-treated timber should not be burned on a bonfire or barbecue. They should be disposed of in a landfill site, or burned in commercial or industrial incinerators or boilers in accordance with national regulations.

Resource from Wood Campus

Guidance on fence post length for prefabricated timber fence panels

Prefabricated timber fence panel height

Minimum distance embedded into ground

Minimum post length needed (without gravel boards)

Minimum post length needed (with 150mm gravel boards)

1,400mm or less

500mm

Panel height +500mm

Panel height + 650mm

1,400mm to 2,000mm

600mm

Panel height + 600mm

Panel height + 750mm

Gardening: Photo Richard Burbidge
Gardening: Photo Richard Burbidge
Treated Timber: Photo Beaumont Forest
Treated Timber: Photo Beaumont Forest
Cut ends need to be coated with preservative
Cut ends need to be coated with preservative
Fencing-Photo Beaumont Forest
Fencing: Photo Beaumont Forest

 
European Wood (in China)
C412, Beijing Lufthansa Center
50 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District
Beijing, P.R. China 100125
T +86 10 6462 2066, F +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
Sino-European Wood Center
Room 202, Engineering Department,
Taoliyuan Hou, Xuhui Campus of Jiaotong University,
No.655 Panyu Road, Xu Hui District, Shanghai
Tel/Fax:021-53098550
info@europeanwood.org.cn

园林设施

自然生长的木制品可用于园林中的各种用途。选择合适的木材能保证长久的使用。园林木制品可以使用多年,如果增加护理则使用寿命更长。

天然抗腐蚀的硬木可以和低成本的防腐软木合用。但不是所有防腐木都适合用于园林,经受各类天气条件考验。木材防腐剂规范的改变影响着木材的适用性,而且防腐木使用完后要进行合理地处理。选用带有森林管理委员会和森林认证体系认可计划认证标识的木材,你就可以放心地告诉客户,你的木材都来自可持续管理的森林中。

是否选择防腐木?

园林中使用的木材完全曝于各种天气条件下,通常需要进行防腐处理,保证使用寿命长久。特别是直接接触土壤或嵌入土壤的木材更应进行处理。加压浸渍是最适合新木构件的处理方法。在欧洲,经销商销售的几乎所有用于园林的木材都经过了防腐剂加压浸渍。加压处理的木材颜色与非防腐木不同,常为绿色或棕色。

对加压防腐木进行切割或开槽会暴露未做防腐处理的部分,这些部分的表面需要喷涂或粉刷防腐剂。接触防腐木时应戴上手套,以防尖刺和粗糙表面划伤手。

对人、宠物、植物的影响

现代加压浸渍防腐木和大多数水基质专利产品不会对人和宠物有副作用,除非误食。爬藤植物喜欢缠绕加压处理木材制作的凉棚隔栅。油漆、染料等溶液防腐剂和涂料也可以延长木棚、栅栏的使用寿命或改善外观。但有些产品可能对人、宠物和植物有潜在危害,因此应谨遵制造说明谨慎使用。

园林中的木结构和木建筑

园林中有许多木结构,包括木棚、狗窝、甲板、树屋。某些需要设计许可,多数都可以购买预制板材,自己用铆钉搭建。纳凉小屋、小木屋等其他构筑物可能需要螺钉或方头螺栓来固定。这些木材一般都是加压处理过的,无需其他防腐措施。

注意不要破坏屋顶防水毛毡,保证瓦片安装正确。屋顶漏水可能导致木材腐烂,影响建筑使用寿命。

栅栏

预制栅栏板材用途广泛,几乎全部经加压处理,无需其他防腐措施。采用长条石板架起木板材,是延长它们使用寿命的好方法。如果石板腐烂,则很容易更换,成本很低。长条石板还能缓冲地面的高低不平,预制的木栅栏板就很容易安装插入。

加压处理的栅栏立杆截面有圆有方,长度尺寸多样。截面尺寸至少为75×75毫米。大风地区或高栅栏需要采用大截面尺寸的立杆。

栅栏立杆插入土壤部分可采用混凝土或金属头,保护底部木材不受潮,上部立杆也不宜受雨水侵蚀。

休闲娱乐器械

休闲娱乐器械的安装应谨遵制造说明,避免尖锐边缘,粗糙表面和突出物,在各构件端头应增加保护套。确保包装上有符合BS EN 71标准的声明和CE标识。考察安装地面的安全性和合理性,以及是否需要安保(如混凝土)。油漆和涂层要无毒无害。设计和建造园林休闲娱乐设施前最好听取专家意见,查看有关安全标准。例如,设计中要避免卡住孩子手指或头部的间隙。

枕木

加压处理枕木在园林中也有可能用到,例如垫高底座、楼梯或池塘结构。新式的枕木通常为现代防腐剂处理木材。曾经传统的方式是使用杂酚处理铁轨枕木或护栏,现在已经不允许使用。旧铁轨枕木等经杂酚处理而回收利用的旧枕木可以使用,但受到很多限制。所有加压处理木材应与池塘隔离开来,池塘采用专门的衬里结构。

栏杆

定型预制和钻孔的栏杆用于甲板、踏步、小桥等,木材或金属皆宜,也可以现场拼装加压处理过的木栏杆、扶手和立杆等组件。垂直杆件(如栏杆)最大间隔不超过100毫米;扶手高度最小900毫米,离地面600毫米以上的甲板扶手高度不小于1100毫米。

天气侵蚀与维护

园林中表面未做处理的木材在天气侵蚀下,18个月至2年内颜色会变成银灰色。如果想让木材保持一定颜色,则每几年要对其进行染色或涂漆,可采用涂刷或喷涂的方式,这样也有利于延长木材使用寿命。

用后处理

加压防腐木边角料不应在篝火或烧烤时烧掉,而应根据国家有关规定,投放到垃圾场处理,或用作商用或工业焚烧炉或锅炉的燃料。

信息资源来自Wood Campus

预制木栅栏板材的立杆长度

预制木栅栏板材高度

嵌入土壤的最浅距离

无长条石板情况下的最短立杆长度

150毫米长条石板情况下的最短立杆长度

不超过1,400毫米

500毫米

板材高度 +500毫米

板材高度+ 650毫米

1,400毫米至2,000毫米

600毫米

板材高度+ 600毫米

板材高度+ 750毫米

园林设施:Richard Burbidge拍摄
园林设施:Richard Burbidge拍摄
防腐处理木材:Beaumont Forest拍摄
防腐处理木材:Beaumont Forest拍摄
木材锯切末端需进行防腐涂层
木材锯切末端需进行防腐涂层
栅栏:Beaumont Forest拍摄
栅栏:Beaumont Forest拍摄

 
欧洲木业协会中国办事处
北京市朝阳区亮马桥路50号 燕莎中心C412室,邮编100125
电话 +86 10 6462 2066
传真 +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
中欧木业中心
上海市徐汇区广元西路55号 浩然高科技大厦808室,邮编200030
电话 +86 21 6439 9332
传真 +86 21 3460 1533
info@europeanwood.org.cn