Managed forests

Left entirely to nature, forests will achieve a climax stage, where the site is supporting the maximum amount of biomass that the soil fertility, rainfall and temperature conditions will allow. At this point the forest only grows as trees fall from age, wind, landslip, disease or fire.

Although natural regeneration will occur, the dead and dying trees will decay or burn, emitting CO2 from the stored carbon. Growth is matched by decay and, with no forest management; there is no net increase in carbon storage.

Harvesting trees as they mature allows much of their carbon to be stored throughout the life of the resulting wood products, while at the same time giving the industry an incentive to plant new trees in their place.

With the Kyoto Protocol in 2005 and following COP negotiations, the forest sector is receiving credit for managing this specific environmental quality of the forest, while the development and trade of carbon emission credits enhances the significance of the forest sector within the global economy.

Increasing oil prices mean the forest sector not only provides alternative materials but also a sustainable source of (bio) energy. As present harvesting levels in the EU are well below sustainable limits, woody biomass energy has considerable potential to help sustain the future global economy.

Reforestation

The European forestry industry recognizes that its future inextricably linked to the protection and expansion of its forests. This, coupled with strong and effectively enforced laws, ensures more trees are planted than are harvested.

All European countries have policies and practices requiring reforestation. Although the number of trees planted per hectare will vary depending upon the species, site and management system, it will always be more than the number cut, in order to allow for natural losses and for the forest to be well stocked. Therefore the need be no confusion between deforestation in tropical regions - e.g. due to poverty or forest conversion for agricultural purposes - and forest management practices in Europe.

Only 64% of the annual increment of European forests is harvested and the forest area is ever-increasing.

Sustainable forest management

Due to the wide variety of historical, demographic, economic, climatic and ecological circumstances, different management and regeneration methods are used across Europe - from

large scale regeneration felling in uniform coniferous monocultures, to group, or even single tree, selection systems in mixed or broadleaved forests.

European forestry management is moving towards methods that enhance natural processes and produce authentic forest structures which are environmentally appropriate, socially beneficial and economic viable.

Protected forests

Europe, excluding Russia, enjoys high levels of forest protection, with almost 39 million ha or 18% of its forest area set aside to conserve ecological and landscape diversity.

More than 2.3 million ha are strict forest reserves, with no active human intervention. There are large tracts of protected forests in Northern and Eastern Europe with little human intervention which are actively managed for biological biodiversity. 85-90% of the forest area of Europe is used for economic, recreational, and other multiple use purposes and also helps to protect the soil, water, and other ecosystem functions, like biodiversity, air quality, climate change and land stability.

Nature dominates forest regrowth

Although the ways of rejuvenating the forest are diverse and differ strongly by country, nearly 70% of the European forest is restored by natural regeneration, up to almost 98% in Russia. This is important as it contributes to the diversity and a healthy (genotype) rich species composition, structure and ecological dynamics. As this method is not always possible or appropriate from an economical or ecological perspective, natural regeneration is complemented by or fully replaced by planting. 34% of the European forest (EU 27) is done mainly by planting or seeding and little more than 2% by coppicing.

Indigenous tree species

Many European forests have seen the introduction of non-indigenous species. For example, in the Netherlands, the fast growing species Larch, Douglas fir and American oak produce large volumes of quality timber.

With the increasing implementation of integrated forest management designed to respect natural ecosystems, these sometimes invasive species are being phased out in favour of indigenous species, at the expense of some reduction in the volume of quality logs.

Carbon stock in wood biomass in European forests
Carbon stock in wood biomass in European forests
Protected forest area in Europe
Protected forest area in Europe

 
European Wood (in China)
C412, Beijing Lufthansa Center
50 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District
Beijing, P.R. China 100125
T +86 10 6462 2066, F +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
Sino-European Wood Center
Room 202, Engineering Department,
Taoliyuan Hou, Xuhui Campus of Jiaotong University,
No.655 Panyu Road, Xu Hui District, Shanghai
Tel/Fax:021-53098550
info@europeanwood.org.cn

受监管的森林

如果让森林完全自然生长,在土壤肥力、降雨、温度调节的可承载范围内,森林可以达到一个极盛的最大量。这时的森林只有自然死亡、暴风、滑坡、病害、火灾发生后才会再生长。

虽然森林有天然再生作用,但死去和衰老的树木会腐化或被燃烧,释放二氧化碳。没有管理的森林,腐化始终伴随着生长,储碳量也不会有净增长。

砍伐成熟树木用来生产木制品,碳可以在木制品使用寿命周期内长期储存,同时刺激木产业种植新树。

在2005年京都议定书和后续的签署国磋商中,森林产业将因森林环境质量管理而获得碳信用额,而碳排放信用额度机制的发展和碳交易无疑将提升森林产业在世界经济体中的重要性。

不断上涨的原油价格意味着森林产业不仅能供给环保材料取代高能耗材料,还能提供可持续的生物能源。当前欧盟的森林砍伐利用量还大大低于可持续利用的极限,因此木材生物质能量还有很大的利用潜力,来维持未来的全球经济。

植树造林

欧洲森林产业意识到,他们的未来不可避免地与森林保护和扩张紧密联系在一起。这种意识和强有力的法律,确保了欧洲种树总比砍树多。

所有的欧洲国家都有植树造林的政策和措施。虽然每公顷植树量会因树种、场地和管理体系的不同而有差异,但种植量总比砍伐量大,这样林木的自然死亡不会影响森林总量,森林也能得到很好的保护。某些热带地区因贫穷而砍伐或毁林造田的情况,在欧洲不会发生。

欧洲每年增长的森林中,只有64%被砍伐,因此森林面积得以持续增长。

可持续森林管理

因为历史、人口、经济、气候、生态环境的巨大差异,欧洲各地采用了不同的森林管理和再生办法,有的地方是大规模再生针叶林的同一砍伐,有的地方是小范围甚至单棵选择性混合种植,或是阔叶林。

欧洲森林管理正在积极推进一种平衡的管理,既强调自然生长的作用,又进行人工种植,既不对生态环境产生影响,又能产生社会经济效益。

保护林

欧洲(不包括俄罗斯)的森林保护水平很高,有近3900万公顷森林受到保护,以保留生态景观多样性,占森林总面积的18%。

超过230万公顷森林受到严格保护,完全不受人类干预。北欧和东欧有大片保护林,人类活动影响极少,生物多样性保存较好。欧洲85%至90%的森林可用于人类经济、休闲活动和其他使用功能,并起到保持水土的作用。同时,森林还有其他生态系统功能,如保护生物多样性、净化空气质量、延缓气候变化、坚固土壤等。

大自然主导森林再生

尽管使森林永葆青春活力的途径多样,各国采取的方式不一,但欧洲近70%的森林是自然再生的,俄罗斯则高达98%,十分有利于优化生物多样性、健康丰富的物种基因型构成、森林结构和生态活力。从经济和生态的角度来说,自然再生通常不是最佳选择,因此需要人工种植来补充或取代。欧盟27国的森林,有34%是通过人工种植或播种的,超过2%是萌生矮林。

本地树种

欧洲许多森林引入了非本地树种。例如荷兰就引入了生长快速的落叶松、花旗松、美栎,产出大量优质木材。

随着尊重自然生态系统的综合森林管理应用得越来越多,外来入侵树种也在逐步退出,本地树种获得更多支持,但代价是优质原木产量的下降。

欧洲各国森林储碳量分布
欧洲各国森林储碳量分布
欧洲受保护的森林面积分布
欧洲受保护的森林面积分布

 
欧洲木业协会中国办事处
北京市朝阳区亮马桥路50号 燕莎中心C412室,邮编100125
电话 +86 10 6462 2066
传真 +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
中欧木业中心
上海市徐汇区广元西路55号 浩然高科技大厦808室,邮编200030
电话 +86 21 6439 9332
传真 +86 21 3460 1533
info@europeanwood.org.cn