Forest growth

  • Forests need metabolism to maintain and increase the ability of storing CO2. Because young, active trees absorb yet more CO2 than the mature trees, which should be harvested and replaced sustainably.
  • Europe's forests are growing by 0.8 million ha a year. In the last 20 years they have grown by 16 million ha - an area roughly twice the size of Ireland. The wood used in construction in Europe comes from sustainably managed forests, as only about 2/3 of Europe's forests' annual growth is harvested.
  • Widely using wood and prosperous markets are important drives to forest growth under regulations and management.

The role of wood products in supporting forests

Contrary to the commonly held belief that there is a direct causal link between using wood and the destruction of forests, increasing the use of wood makes a positive contribution to maintaining and increasing forests.

Clearly there is a distinction to be made between tropical or sub-tropical forests and temperate forests. In the former, tropical forest cover is indeed being reduced, for a number of reasons linked to population growth, poverty and institutional deficiencies. However, increasing wood use is not a contributory factor. On the contrary, it creates a market value for the forests which is a powerful incentive to preserve them.

As far as temperate, and more especially European forests, are concerned, the situation is completely different. Europe's forest cover is increasing by 800 000 ha every year since 1990 and only 64% of annual growth is harvested: the amount of wood available in Europe is growing continuously, as a result of under-harvest on the one hand, and the increase in forest cover on the other.

In Europe (even without Russia), the standing volume of forest is growing by 700 million m³ every year, almost the equivalent of the wood needed for a single family wooden house every second. This means that very little needs to be imported into Europe, with over 97% of softwood, and over 90% of all wood used in Europe being sourced from European forests.

The European forest-based sector is well aware that its own future is linked to the future of its forests. This, together with regulations requiring the reforestation of harvested trees and the development of certification schemes, gives the stability needed in order for the forests to continue to thrive. A forest's survival depends, broadly speaking, on its value to the local community.

As was noted during the Earth Summit of Rio in 1992, conserving tropical forests is more often considered by the countries concerned as an obstacle to their own development than an ecological necessity. In providing energy, arable or pasture land, or simply more space, deforestation is frequently seen as a solution rather than a problem.

Developing a market for wood helps owners and governments to see forests in a different way, recognizing their contribution to local and national economies. As soon as the prosperity of a local community is seen to be associated with the presence of a forest, the principles of sustainable management begin to be respected.

The global context

Globally, forests are an immense resource, accounting for 31% of the Earth's total land base. Although European forests, excluding Russia, account for just 5% of that area, they are the most intensively managed in the world. They provide for over 25% of the current global industrial roundwood removals, wood-based-panels, paper and paperboard. Despite the increasing demand for forest resources, the EU has become a net exporter of forest products, while at the same time expanding Europe's forests.

Europe's forest cover

Europe has 1,005 million ha of forest spread over 46 countries, equivalent to 25% of the global forest and to 1.4 ha (more than two football pitches) per capita. Although the Russian Federation accounts for over 80% of this forest area, EU forest cover averages 45% per country while EU 27 countries have average forest cover of 37.6 % , amounting to 157 million ha of forest.

Europe's forest growth

In all European regions, forest area has increased since 1990. Europe is the only region to have a positive net change in forest area for the past 20 years. Europe gained 5.1 million ha of forest and other forest land since 2005 and 16.69 million ha since 1990. The total standing volume in Europe in 2010 amounted to 96 252 of which 21 750 million cubic metres in EU 27 countries.

Sustainable forest management

For Europe, the concept of sustainable forest management was defined in 1993 at the pan-European Ministerial Conference on the Protection of Forests in Europe as: 'The stewardship and use of forest lands in a way and at a rate that maintains their biodiversity, productivity, regeneration capacity, vitality and their potential to fulfil now and in the future relevant ecological, economic and social functions at local, national and global levels and that does not cause damage to other ecosystems.'

Reliable information and careful planning are important for sustainable forest management. The work of organisations such the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the UN (FAO) in the field of forestry planning and statistics provides information and tools to assist forest management and forestry policies. Forests in Europe are increasingly being managed as ecosystems, taking into account both economic benefits and environmental values.

Sustainable forest management (SFM) takes into consideration various pressures and demands, both environmental and societal, such as: climate change, air impurities, land use changes, protection, biodiversity certification, timber production, water resources.

Reforestation

The European forest industry recognises that its future is inextricably linked to the protection and expansion of its forests. This couples with strong and effectively enforced laws and ensures that more trees are planted than harvested.

All European countries have policies and practices requiring reforestation. Although the number of trees planted per hectare will vary depending upon the species and site, it will always be more than the number cut in order to allow for natural losses and for the forest to be well stocked.

A variety of approaches

Due to the wide variety of historical, demographic, economic, climatic, and ecological circumstances, different management and regeneration methods are used across Europe - from large-scale regeneration felling in uniform coniferous monocultures, to group or even single tree selection systems in mixed or broadleaved forests.

Protected forest

Nearly 12% of the forest area is set aside to conserve forest biological and landscape diversity. Of this, more than 1.6 million ha are strict forest reserves. There are large tracts of protected forests in Northern and Eastern Europe with little human intervention, which are actively managed for biodiversity. 85-90% of the European forest serves multi-functional purposes and also helps to protect the soil, water, and other ecosystem functions.

Europe's forest cover
Europe's forest cover
Global forest cover
Global forest cover
Composition of EU 27 forests
Composition of EU 27 forests
Europe's forests are expanding
Europe's forests are expanding, 42% coniferous wood, primarily spruce

 
European Wood (in China)
C412, Beijing Lufthansa Center
50 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District
Beijing, P.R. China 100125
T +86 10 6462 2066, F +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
Sino-European Wood Center
Room 202, Engineering Department,
Taoliyuan Hou, Xuhui Campus of Jiaotong University,
No.655 Panyu Road, Xu Hui District, Shanghai
Tel/Fax:021-53098550
info@europeanwood.org.cn

森林增长

  • 森林需要通过新陈代谢来维持和增强吸收二氧化碳的能力。青壮年树木比年迈的树木吸收更多的二氧化碳,因而成年树木应该可持续地砍伐和取代。
  • 欧洲森林面积每年增长80万公顷,在过去的20年里增长了1600万公顷,相当于两个爱尔兰的面积。欧洲用于建筑的木材都是可持续森林管理的用材,每年只有三分之二的森林增长量被砍伐。
  • 木材的广泛使用和繁荣的木产业市场是规范管理下的森林增长的重要推动力。

木制品促进森林增长

传统观念认为,使用木材会造成森林减少。而事实上增加木材的使用对森林面积的增长有着积极的促进作用。

首先需明确,热带和亚热带森林与温带森林的情况不同。过去因为人口增长、贫困和管理机制缺陷,热带森林面积的确是在减少。但增加木材使用并不是原因。相反,使用木材开拓了森林的市场价值,这正是保护森林的一种激励。

温带森林,特别是欧洲森林的发展情况则截然不同。自1990年起,欧洲森林面积每年增长80万公顷,其中仅有64%被砍伐。所以欧洲可供使用的木材量是在不断增长的,一方面因为有机会地砍伐,另一方面因为森林面积总量不断增加。

欧洲(不包括俄罗斯)立木量每年增长7亿立方米,相当于每秒增加一座普通家庭住宅所需的木材量。这意味着欧洲几乎不需进口木材。欧洲所消耗的木材中90%、所消耗的软木中97%都来自欧洲的森林。

欧洲的森林产业很明白,他们的未来与森林的未来息息相关。这种意识,还有植树造林填补砍伐的相关规范,以及森林认证体系,共同保证了欧洲森林的持续繁茂和稳定。一般来说,一片森林的繁盛与否,取决于这片森林对当地社会的价值。

1992年在里约热内卢召开的地球峰会上,许多国家认为,保存热带森林是制约他们经济发展的一个障碍,而不具有生态必要性。为了获得能源、耕地、牧场或是更多的空间,砍伐森林常常是解决发展问题的一个办法而不是一个问题。

开发木材市场是森林所有者和政府看待森林的一个新视角,能够帮助人们看到森林对地区和国家经济的促进作用。一旦地区经济的繁荣与森林挂钩,可持续森林管理才会真正被人们重视起来。

全球的森林情况

森林是地球上的一种巨大的资源,它占据着地球陆地面积的31%。欧洲(不包括俄罗斯)的森林面积其实只占地球陆地面积的5%,但却得到了最严格的管理。欧洲生产着全球25%的原木、木基结构板材、纸张和纸板。在森林资源需求看涨的情况下,欧盟仍然是森林产品的净出口商,且不断扩大着森林面积。

欧洲的森林情况

欧洲森林总面积10.05亿公顷,遍布46个国家,相当于全球森林总量的25%,人均森林面积1.4公顷(比两个足球场还大)。虽然俄罗斯的森林面积占到全欧洲的80%,但欧盟各国家的平均森林覆盖率达到45%,欧盟27国的总体平均森林覆盖率达到37.6%,相当于1.57亿公顷。

欧洲森林的增长

自1990年起,欧洲所有地区的森林都开始增长,欧洲也是世界上唯一一个在过去20年间森林面积保持持续净增长的地区。欧洲自2005年以来森林面积净增510万公顷,自1990年以来净增1669万公顷。欧洲2010年的立木量达到962.52亿立方米,其中欧盟27国达到217.5亿立方米。

可持续森林管理

欧洲可持续森林管理的概念是1993年在主题为森林保护的泛欧部长级会议上被正式定义的:即以适当的方式和程度管理和使用森林土地,保持生物多样性、森林生产率、再生能力、生命力,从地区、国家和全球层面保持森林满足当前和未来相关生态、经济、社会功能的能力,且不对其他生态系统造成损害。

可靠的信息和周密的计划对于可持续森林管理至关重要。联合国食品和农业组织等机构在森林规划方面的努力和统计分析,为森林管理和政策制定提供了必要的信息和工具。欧洲的森林作为生态系统的经济利益和环境价值得到了充分的考虑和良好的管理。

植树造林

欧洲森林产业意识到,他们的未来与森林的保护和扩大密不可分。强有力的法律保证了植树造林量超过森林砍伐量。

所有欧洲国家都有植树造林、恢复森林的政策规定。每公顷的植树量因树种和土地条件而不同,但植树的数量总是要多于砍树的数量,确保砍伐和树木的自然死亡不会对森林造成损失。

多种途径

不同历史、人口、经济、气候、生态条件下,欧洲各地的森林管理和再生方式不一。有的地方是大规模统一种植针叶材,有的地方是小范围甚至单棵选择性混合种植,有的是阔叶林。

保护林

为了保存森林的生物多样性和景观多样性,有将近12%的欧洲森林是受保护的,其中有超过160万公顷森林受到严格保护。在北欧和东欧有大片的保护林不受人类侵扰,生物多样性得到积极地管理。85%至90%的森林则有多重用途,同时起到保持水土和其他生态系统功能的作用。

欧洲各国森林覆盖面积
欧洲各国森林覆盖面积
全球各地区森林覆盖比例
全球各地区森林覆盖比例
欧盟27国森林构成
欧盟27国森林构成
欧洲森林面积在不断增大
欧洲森林面积在不断增大
42%为针叶材,其中主要是云杉

 
欧洲木业协会中国办事处
北京市朝阳区亮马桥路50号 燕莎中心C412室,邮编100125
电话 +86 10 6462 2066
传真 +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
中欧木业中心
上海市徐汇区广元西路55号 浩然高科技大厦808室,邮编200030
电话 +86 21 6439 9332
传真 +86 21 3460 1533
info@europeanwood.org.cn