Using wood is one of the best solutions for energy shortage

Wood construction consumes minimal energy. Wood is light and easy to put together on site. Foundations are minimized. Transport and construction require less energy.

Wood buildings are more energy-efficient

Wood is a natural thermal insulator. Using wood helps to save energy over the life of a building, as its cellular structure provides outstanding thermal insulation: 15 times better than concrete, 400 times better than steel and 1 770 times better than aluminum. A 2.5cm timber board has better thermal resistance than an 11.4cm brick wall. Wood's low thermal conductivity means 90% of the insulation value can be realized, with only 10% lost to thermal bridging. Timber structures from frame walls to CLT panels provide cavities for additional insulation materials to meet energy regulations. This means thicker walls and more insulation materials are required for steel, concrete, or masonry structures to achieve the same level of thermal resistance.

Therefore, wood envelope outperforms Chinese Energy Codes with the same cost compared to other envelopes, or the energy-efficiency of wood construction reduces the cost of meeting the codes.

Wood frame buildings are easy to insulate thermally

Unlike solid concrete or masonry structures, wood frame walls, floor joists, and roof joists inherently provide space for fibrous insulation, the most economical way to achieve better insulation. Application of mineral insulation is a standard element of any wood construction project. It is conducted with minimal additional labour or material expense and provides significant returns. Wood's low thermal conductivity means 90 per cent of the insulation value can be realized, with only 10 per cent lost to thermal bridging. Wood structures can also be readily insulated on the exterior or interior if additional energy savings are desired.

Light steel frame walls also have cavities for insulation. But the high thermal conductivity of steel means only 50 per cent of the insulation value can be achieved. Extra measures are always required to reduce local energy loss and vapour condensation as a result of steel thermal bridging. It can also lead to ‘ghost marks'; dark vertical marks that appear over the framing on the interior surfaces of exterior walls, as a result of faster dust accumulation on cool surfaces.

An energy consumption field test by the Harbin Institute of Technology considered a wood building using 38 mm x 140 mm studs, cavity insulation and 30 mm of exterior rigid panel polystyrene insulation. This was compared with a brick building clad with 60 mm rigid panel polystyrene insulation. Harbin is an area which experiences severe cold.

The test measured the thermal transfer coefficients (K) of the walls as 0.244 for wood buildings and 0.526 for brick buildings. The timber building reduced coal consumption by about 50 per cent.

Wood frame construction outperforms Chinese Energy Codes with no additional cost

Wood frame buildings are generally rated as more efficient and economical than other construction types. They outperform all the relevant requirements for building energy efficiency in China with no additional cost.

JGJ 26 "Standards for Energy Design for Severe Cold and Cold Areas" requires buildings in Beijing to have thermal transfer coefficients (K) from 0.55 to 1.16. Typical wood frame walls can achieve thermal transfer coefficients from 0.3 to 0.5 depending on stud size, spacing and insulation materials.

According to calculations by Shanghai Xiandai Architectural Design Group, the effective thermal transfer coefficients of conventional wall assemblies with 38 mm x 89 mm studs, range from 0.46-0.49 and 0.37-0.40 with rock wool and glass fibre insulation, taking into account the thermal conductivity of the studs. These thermal transfer coefficients (K) can be further reduced to 0.3 or lower if 38 mm x 140 mm or wider studs are used for framing, or extra exterior insulation is applied. By comparison, steel, concrete, or brick walls would require extra and more expensive, rigid insulation panels in order to achieve similar insulation performance, and walls would be thicker.

  • Thermal conductivity is the rate of heat transferred by conduction through solid materials subject to a temperature difference on each side of the material.
  • Thermal transfer coefficient (U-value or K-coefficient) is a measure of heat conductivity through a building assembly, comprising a number of materials.
  • Thermal resistance (RSI) refers to the resistance to conductive heat transfer through a material or assembly. It is the reciprocal of conductivity (1/K).
  • A lower K or a higher RSI means better thermal or insulating performance.
  • Thermal bridging refers to the higher thermal conductivity of a structural component, within the insulated assembly, providing a bridge for more rapid heat transfer through the assembly and thereby reducing the overall thermal performance of the assembly.

The energy-efficiency of wood construction reduces the cost of meeting the codes

All concrete, masonry, and steel frame structures need rigid insulation panels in order to meet China's energy efficiency requirements. In Beijing, concrete or masonry buildings need additional 50 mm to 80 mm thick insulating panels. In Shanghai, they need 50 mm thick panels in order to meet the minimum energy requirements. By comparison, conventional wood frame construction using fibre insulation meets the requirements without additional insulation, using 38 ×140 mm studs in Beijing and 38 × 89 mm studs in Shanghai. A considerable saving can therefore be made.

If additional insulation is not used, steel and concrete buildings will consume much more heating and cooling energy. The dramatic savings in cooling and heating costs of wood frame building envelopes have been confirmed and praised by developers and property managers who have experience with these constructions in China. As one of the world's largest countries, China is subject to extreme climate variations. The energy-efficiency of wood structures is beneficial in all climates, but particularly in China's colder regions, where heating is required.

China is facing an energy challenge

China is experiencing rapid economic development. It has the world's second largest energy consumption, exceeded only by the USA. In 2003 its total energy consumption was 1,68 billion tonnes coal equivalent. By 2010, according to a recent government estimate, energy consumption could exceed 3 billion tonnes a year.

This growth in consumption has led to energy shortages, which can hold back economic development. And, in spite of extensive domestic fossil fuel reserves, China has become one of the largest energy importers in the world. Improving energy efficiency and developing renewable energy supplies have therefore become a priority.

Energy production has a serious impact on the environment

China's current energy supplies are heavily dependent on fossil fuels, which emit large quantities of CO2. Rapid economic development, accompanied by higher energy consumption and the use of fossil fuels, is presenting serious challenges to air, and water quality across the country.

Improving energy conservation and using environmentally friendly and renewable materials can reduce the impact of economic development and provide a better living environment for China's population.

The construction and operation of buildings create greater environmental impacts than most people realize. Globally, buildings are responsible for 20% of all water consumption, 25%~40% of all energy use, 30%~40% of greenhouse gas emissions and 30%~40% of solid waste generation. Of the total energy consumed by buildings, on average 22 per cent is used during the construction phase and 78 per cent during the long-term operation phase. Estimates suggests that the building sector now accounts for about one-third of China's total energy use and this is expected to grow in the future.

Currently in China, buildings are responsible for more than 40% of energy consumption. Almost 2 billion m2 of new buildings are completed each year, more than 80% of which are made of fossil fuel-intensive materials, constructed in an energy-consuming and polluting way, and performing with energy consumption per unit area currently two to three times higher than in developed countries. China has set ambitious targets and will work hard to achieve them.

Insulation is simple to fit in wood frame buildings
Insulation is simple to fit
in wood frame buildings
A new wall and roof panel system, combining concrete structures with wood frame design, saves energy, material and cost
A new wall and roof panel system
combining concrete structures
with wood frame design
saves energy, material and cost
Building system
The Building system of the wall-roof panel system saves 2/3 of the engery compared to using bricks

 
European Wood (in China)
C412, Beijing Lufthansa Center
50 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District
Beijing, P.R. China 100125
T +86 10 6462 2066, F +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
Sino-European Wood Center
Room 202, Engineering Department,
Taoliyuan Hou, Xuhui Campus of Jiaotong University,
No.655 Panyu Road, Xu Hui District, Shanghai
Tel/Fax:021-53098550
info@europeanwood.org.cn

使用木材是最佳解决办法之一

木建筑能耗小。木结构质量轻,现场施工快捷,对重型起重设备需求少;木建筑基础规模较小;木制品和木构件运输消耗的能源较少。所有这些都使其比其他建筑材料和结构体系的能耗更少。

木材保温隔热性能优异

使用木材能帮助在建筑全生命周期里节能,因为木材的细胞结构使之具有优异的保温隔热性能:15倍于混凝土,400倍于钢材,1770倍于铝材。一块仅2.5厘米厚的木板就比11.4厘米厚的砖墙的热阻还要大。这意味着钢材、混凝土或砖石结构建筑如要达到与木结构相同水平的节能性能,必须使用更多的保温材料或加厚墙体。木材十分轻巧,易于在现场施工且木材在运输过程中消耗的能源也较少。木结构建筑自重轻,基础施工用材少。此外,木结构建筑施工速度快,无需或极少使用重型设备。总之,木结构建筑消耗的能源极少。

木结构建筑比其它结构建筑更为节能

与混凝土或砖石结构建筑不同,轻型木结构建筑可在墙体龙骨,楼板和屋顶搁栅空间内填充保温材料,因此保温隔热效果好且成本低。矿物纤维保温材料是木结构建筑常用的保温材料,这种材料成本低,施工的人工成本也低,因此投资回报率高。木材的低热导性使木结构保温隔热率达到90%,而热桥损失仅为10%。为进一步提升节能性能,木结构建筑还可以方便地加设额外的外墙外保温或外墙内保温。

轻钢结构建筑的墙体中也可以填充保温材料,但钢材是一种高导热性材料,由于钢材的热桥损失,保温材料保温性能的利用率低于50%,所以钢结构必须采取额外措施解决热桥问题,以防止水蒸汽凝结和减少能量损失。此外,轻钢结构外墙的冰冷表面容易使灰尘聚积,因此墙体内表面容易出现俗称“鬼印”的黑色污迹。

典型木结构建筑的节能性能高于中国现行建筑节能规范的要求

木结构建筑在节能性能和成本上均优于其它结构建筑。典型木结构建筑的节能性能高于中国现行建筑节能规范的要求,且不需要增加任何额外成本。

《民用建筑节能设计标准(采暖居住建筑部分)》(JGJ 26)规定,北京地区建筑外墙的传热系数应在0.55(w/m2.k)到1.16(w/m2.k)之间。典型的轻型木结构墙体的传热系数一般为0.3(w/m2.k)至0.5(w/m2.k),实际传热系数因龙骨规格、龙骨间距、保温材料不同而有所变化。

哈尔滨工业大学在哈尔滨对一栋轻型木结构住宅和一栋砖混复合住宅进行了节能实测对比研究。轻型木结构住宅墙体使用38mm×140mm木龙骨,龙骨中间填充玻璃纤维保温棉,外墙铺设30mm厚聚苯乙烯外保温板。而砖混复合住宅外墙铺设60mm聚苯乙烯保温板。17两栋住宅墙体传热系数(K值)实测结果为:木结构墙体为0.244(w/m2.k),砖混复合结构墙体0.526(w/m2.k)。检测显示,木结构建筑节约近50%的耗煤量。

上海现代建筑设计集团计算了不同轻型木结构墙体的传热系数。墙体龙骨规格为38mm × 89mm、分别使用岩棉和玻璃纤维作为保温材料。计算结果为,使用岩棉的墙体传热系数为0.46-0.49(w/m2.k),而使用玻璃纤维的墙体传热系数为0.37-0.40(w/m2.k)。如果墙体龙骨使用38mm × 140mm或更大的规格且增加外墙外保温,上述传热系数可进一步降低至0.3(w/m2.k)或以下。通过比较发现,钢材、混凝土或砖石结构的墙体必须增加成本更高的外保温板才能达到与木结构墙体类似的保温性能,且将大大增加墙体的厚度。

同样达到节能规范要求的条件下,木结构建筑成本更低

所有混凝土、砖石和钢结构建筑必须采用外墙保温板才能达到中国现行节能标准的要求。在混凝土或砖石结构外墙在北京和上海必须分别采用厚度为50至80mm和厚度为50mm的保温板才能达到最低的节能标准。而典型的轻型木结构建筑在北京和上海分别使用38× 140mm和38 × 89mm的龙骨,再填充纤维保温材料即能达到节能标准。因此轻型木结构建筑成本更低。

如不进行额外的保温处理,钢结构和混凝土结构建筑的采暖和制冷能耗非常大。在中国,使用过轻型木结构建筑的用户发现轻型木结构采暖和制冷能耗却很低。作为世界上国土面积最大的国家之一,中国的气候条件多种多样,轻型木结构建筑能够适应所有气候条件,在严寒和寒冷地区其节能性能更为优异。

中国面临能源挑战

随着经济的迅猛发展,中国已成为仅次于美国的全球第二大能源消耗国。2003年,中国的总能耗约合16.8亿吨标准煤。根据政府近期公布的预测数据,截至2010年,中国的年能耗将超过30亿吨标准煤。能源短缺将阻碍中国的经济发展。中国虽然有着巨大的化石燃料储量,却仍是世界上最大的能源进口国之一。提升能效水平和发展可再生能源已成为中国的当务之急。

能源生产对环境影响严重

中国当前的能源供应严重依赖化石燃料,而化石燃料能排放大量二氧化碳。快速的经济发展伴随着能源消费和化石燃料的使用不断增长,正在对国内的空气质量和水质构成严峻的挑战。使用节能环保和可再生材料能降低经济发展对环境的影响,有利于创造更美好的居住环境。

建筑的施工和使用对环境产生的负面影响已经超乎人们的认识。建筑业的水耗占全球总水耗的20%,能耗占全球总能耗的25%至40%,温室气体排放量占全球温室气体总排量的30%至40%,产生的固体废弃物也占到全球固废总量的30%至40%。在中国,根据有关数据,建筑能耗约占能耗总量的1/3,预期这一比例仍将持续增长。在建筑总能耗中,住宅能耗约占38%。随着人们生活水平的不断提高和城市化进程的推进,住宅能耗将持续增加。

今天的中国,建筑业能耗占全国能耗的40%。每年新建约20亿立方米的建筑,其中80%以上都是采用高化石燃料生产的材料,施工方式高能耗、重污染,建筑投入使用后的单位面积能耗是发达国家的2至3倍。中国政府已制订长远的节能目标,并开始付诸实施。

轻型木结构建筑中添加保温层简单快捷
轻型木结构建筑中添加保温层简单快捷
新型墙体-屋顶板材体系
新型墙体-屋顶板材体系,用于混凝土建筑的木结构设计,节能、节材、节约成本
墙体-屋顶板材体系比砖混砌块结构节约三分之二的能耗
墙体-屋顶板材体系比砖混砌块结构
节约三分之二的能耗

 
欧洲木业协会中国办事处
北京市朝阳区亮马桥路50号 燕莎中心C412室,邮编100125
电话 +86 10 6462 2066
传真 +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
中欧木业中心
上海市徐汇区广元西路55号 浩然高科技大厦808室,邮编200030
电话 +86 21 6439 9332
传真 +86 21 3460 1533
info@europeanwood.org.cn