Durability

In human history, wood has always been an important building material. There are many examples of wooden buildings from around the world, including China, that have lasted for centuries in all types of climate. They provide evidence that wood construction can last virtually forever, providing it is designed and built properly to meet specific climatic conditions, and maintained appropriately over its full life cycle.

Design, specification, treatment and maintenance need to be carefully considered for the different climatic conditions. Appropriate design, material selection, construction, and maintenance will ensure that wood is safe from the decay and mould associated with exposure to excessive moisture, as well as from the termite infestations found in the southern China regions.

Durability depends on protecting wood from excessive moisture. Building envelopes should be designed to prevent water vapour condensation within envelope cavities and to allow any dampness to dry out. In wet climates, more steeply sloped roofs, large overhangs and rain screens can be used. As with any building system, the building envelope must be sealed against rain penetration around windows, doors, and other exterior wall openings, including roof penetrations and balconies.

In areas with termite hazard, effective prevention and control can be achieved with appropriate design and construction practices. In recent years, multiple lines of defense have been developed and integrated into modern wood construction to ensure moisture and termite resistance.

Exterior wood products used for decks and other landscaping projects are either made from naturally durable wood species, such as the heartwood of China fir, Western red cedar and yellow cedar, or pressure treated with chemical preservatives.

Strict regulations on environment and human health ensure these chemicals are benign to humans but resistant to insects and fungi. Good design, workmanship, and maintenance are also critical for prolonging the service life of outdoor wood products.

Modern wood frame construction has a good record of durability

Modern systems of wood frame construction also have a good record of durability. This building type has a long history in Europe and North America, and there are still houses standing from the original developments. Many North American and European wood houses are over a hundred years old.

Progress in design, material use and treatment, construction techniques and maintenance have been made in recent decades to make sure that wood buildings can endure indefinitely.

A survey on wood building service lives

Buildings are rarely demolished because they are beyond repair, or have become structurally unsound. Generally it is to make way for a larger or more modern building. Simple to maintain and repair, wood buildings are easily renovated to adapt to new requirements. At the end of their economic service life, they can be demolished, with recovered materials being reused, recycled or used as biomass energy.

Durability survey in China

Forintek carried out a durability survey of wood frame houses in China during 2006 and 2007. Results demonstrated that, with the durability measures introduced into the relevant codes and standards in China, including the Shanghai Technical Specification for Wood-Frame Construction, wood construction in China is durable.

Distribution of 94 non-residential buildings by age class and structural material

The main hall of Nanchan Temple, near Wutaishan, Shanxi Province, China, built in 782 AD Tang Dynasty, the oldest existing wooden building in China
The main hall of Nanchan Temple
near Wutaishan, Shanxi Province
built in 782 AD Tang Dynasty
the oldest existing wooden building
in China
Fogong Temple Wooden Pagoda of Ying County, Shanxi Province, China, built in 1056 AD Liao Dynasty, the oldest existing high-rise wooden building in the world
Fogong Temple Wooden Pagoda of Ying County, Shanxi Province, China
built in 1056 AD Liao Dynasty
the oldest existing high-rise
wooden building in the world
Stave Church, Urnes, Norway, built in 1150 AD, post and beam structure
Stave Church, Urnes, Norway, built in 1150 AD, post and beam structure

 
European Wood (in China)
C412, Beijing Lufthansa Center
50 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District
Beijing, P.R. China 100125
T +86 10 6462 2066, F +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
Sino-European Wood Center
Room 202, Engineering Department,
Taoliyuan Hou, Xuhui Campus of Jiaotong University,
No.655 Panyu Road, Xu Hui District, Shanghai
Tel/Fax:021-53098550
info@europeanwood.org.cn

耐久性

在人类历史上,木材一直是一种重要的建筑材料。包括中国在内,木结构建筑在各种气候环境下留存数百年的例子不胜枚举。这些例子证明了只要房屋的设计和建造符合特定的气候环境要求,并且能够在整个生命周期中得到妥善的维护,木结构建筑是可以永久保存的。

在中国建造木结构建筑,必须全面考虑不同气候环境下的结构设计、构造细节、处理和维护等各方面因素适当的设计、材料的选择、施工和维护将会确保木材不会由于受潮而腐烂发霉,或受到中国南方地区发现的白蚁的啃噬侵蚀。

木结构建筑的耐久性取决于是否能防止木材大面积受潮。木结构建筑围护结构的设计应防止水汽在围护结构内部凝结,并能够将潮气排出。在潮湿的环境中,可以采用坡度较大的屋面、大房檐和防雨罩等以减轻房屋的受潮程度。和其他建筑体系一样,木结构建筑围护结构必须是密封的,以防雨水从窗户、门和其他外墙面的开口处,包括屋面和阳台渗透进来。在白蚁肆虐的地区,可以通过适当的设计和施工实现有效的防控。最近几年,现代木结构建筑中已融入了多层防护措施,以确保房屋的防潮性和抗白蚁性能。

用于栈道和其他景观项目的外用木制品通常采用天然持久的树种, 如中国杉木、西部红柏、黄柏的心材,或经过加压防腐化学处理的木材。对环境和人体健康的严格要求确保了这些化学防腐剂对人体温和无害,但是却可以杀虫和杀菌。出色的设计、制作工艺和维护可以有效地延长户外木制品的使用寿命。

现代木结构建筑有良好的耐用历史

现代木结构建筑具有良好的耐用历史。木结构建筑在欧洲和北美历史悠久,且迄今仍有一些古老的木结构房屋保留下来。北美和欧洲很多木结构民宅超过100年的历史。近几十年来,木结构建筑的设计、材料的选择和处理、施工技术以及维护都有了长足的发展,使木结构建筑的使用寿命不断延长。

木结构建筑使用寿命调查

建筑物被拆除的原因通常并非年久失修或结构不稳,而多半是因为在同一地块上要建造更大或更现代化的建筑。由于易于维护和维修,木结构建筑可以灵活地翻新改造,以适应新的要求。在经济寿命的末期,木结构建筑可以被拆除,而回收的木材还可以再利用,再循环或用作生物能源。

中国木结构建筑的耐久性调查

加拿大林产工业研究院于2006年和2007年对中国的木结构建筑的耐久性进行了调查。结果显示随着中国逐步将耐久性的要求和规定纳入相关的建筑规范和标准体系中,如《轻型木结构建筑技术规程》(上海),中国木结构建筑的耐久性得到了加强。(详见规范和标准)。

Distribution of 94 non-residential buildings by age class and structural material

中国山西省舞台上南禅寺大殿,建于782年唐代,中国现存最古老的木建筑
中国山西省舞台上南禅寺大殿
建于782年唐代,中国现存最古老的木建筑
中国山西省应县佛宫寺木塔,建于1056年辽代,世界现存最古老的高层建筑
中国山西省应县佛宫寺木塔
建于1056年辽代
世界现存最古老的高层建筑
挪威乌尔内斯斯塔万格木板教堂,建于1150年,梁柱结构体系
挪威乌尔内斯斯塔万格木板教堂
建于1150年,梁柱结构体系

 
欧洲木业协会中国办事处
北京市朝阳区亮马桥路50号 燕莎中心C412室,邮编100125
电话 +86 10 6462 2066
传真 +86 10 6462 2067
info@europeanwood.org.cn
中欧木业中心
上海市徐汇区广元西路55号 浩然高科技大厦808室,邮编200030
电话 +86 21 6439 9332
传真 +86 21 3460 1533
info@europeanwood.org.cn